Contact Us

Helen Hayes Awards!

Want to get a jump-start on upcoming deals? Meet the major D.C. players at one of our upcoming events!

Last night we also joined 1,200 theatre-makers, goers and lovers at the 31st Annual Helen Hayes Awards, which took place at two of DC’s most renowned theatrical venues: the Lincoln Theatre for the awards ceremony and the Howard Theatre for the after-party. We snapped nominee for Outstanding Lead Actress The BFG Susan Lynskey with actor and Helen Hayes Board of Governors Ian Armstrong, Imagination Stage’s Emily Kester, and Rorschach Theater costumer designer Deb Sivigny.

The evening’s festivities recognized outstanding achievement in Washington Theatre. Of the 264 nominations, 57 DC artists, theatres and ensembles received honors in 47 categories. The night’s big winners included Theater Alliance’s Black Nativity and The Wonderful World of Dissocia, which collectively won six awards. Here, No Rules Theatre Company’s Sherry Berg, LifeArtDC’s Jenna Berk, and Happenstance Theater’s Sarah Olmsted Thomas.

Following the awards ceremony, guests made their way a few blocks east to enjoy late night hors d’oeuvres, drinks, DJ and dancing.This signature program honors the legacy and talent of its namesake, Helen Hayes, who was a DC native actress and nicknamed the First Lady of the American Theatre

As the host of the Helen Hayes Awards, theatreWashington is dedicated to supporting all segments of Washington’s professional theatre community. Here, Olney Theatre’s Carousel actress Taylor Elise Rector, Simply Theatre’s Simply Sondheim’s Paul Scanlan, 2012 Outstanding Supporting Actor Helen Hayes winner Matthew Delorenzo, and Studio Theatre’s Aaren Keith.

Liz Ovits, Merjan Bubernack, Richelle Manasala and Alfredo Flores contributed to this issue.

Related Topics: Helen Hayes Awards