Contact Us

In Honor of Women

In Honor of Women

anne bryant

Anne Bryant, who'sspent her whole career working in the association world, received ASAE's In Honor of Women lifetime achievement award last week. Anne recently ended a 17-year career as the National School Boards Association executive director and is now sitting on five nonprofit boards. After the Massachusetts native finished a doctorate in higher ed and labor law, she thought she'd become a university president. But instead she worked at SmithBucklin on the National Association of Bank Women account and helped establish a degree program for women to progress to more senior bank management positions. She formed P.M. Haeger and Associates as a SmithBucklin spin off and left in the mid '80s to join the American Association of University Women. She spearheaded studies on how girls were being shortchanged in society and education. Her advice to people interested in an association career: Don't shy away from taking on new tasks.


NBWA-rebecca spicerRebecca Spicerpicked up the Rising Star award for six years worth of achievements in the association world.The Nashville native joined the National Beer Wholesalers Association as its communications and public affairs VP after a career in White House communications and TV news. (She produced WJLA's 6 o'clock news for six years.) She liked NBWA's work hard, play hard, and take care of each other atmosphere. And it helps that the organization knows how to throw some fun parties. It celebrated 75 years last year in San Diego on the USS Midway and regularly holds events showing how to pair beer with food. Her best advice for other rising stars: Don't script your life. Be flexible and follow your interests.



Thurgood Marshall College Fund CFO Velma Hart and Georgia Nurses Association CEO Debbie Hackman were also crowned mentors of the year. Other winners included Stratton Publishing & Marketing president Debra Stratton for industry partner of the year; National Association of Local Boards of Health CEO Maria Fallon received a posthumous lifetime achievement award, and American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics CEO Sharon Swan received the community award.