Contact Us

Plan of Action For Surrey

Vancouver Mixed-Use

Starting this year, taking into account the current pace of growth, Surrey is going to prepare new plans for five of its six town centres—Newton, Cloverdale, Fleetwood, Guildford, and Semiahmoo. The sixth, City Centre, already has an updated plan. (It's free to go out and play, while the others have to do their homework.) Mayor Dianne Watts says the Town Centre plans will factor in appropriate future land uses, densities of housing and commercial development, streets, walkways, transit and transportation structures, public places, and urban design guidelines, beautification, heritage, and public art opportunities. There will be extensive public and community stakeholder consultation, as well as an online tool to collect input.