Contact Us

Brian Ashin, Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, 33


Job: I represent corporate clients throughout their respective life cycles in the energy, hospitality, entertainment, retail and technology sectors. Covering formation to more sophisticated corporate transactions including debt financings, mergers, acquisitions, equity financings and other general corporate matters.

Community involvement: I've represented several community banks and credit unions in negotiations with the Department of Treasury as part of the TARP Community Development Capital Initiative. I've successfully overturned two prior denials of Social Security disability benefits for DC residents living with AIDS. I have also advised the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation on discrete corporate matters. I am also a big advocate of the Children’s Law Center and all the great work that Judith Sandalow and her team does there.

Career highlight: My client, Dividend Solar, has matured from an idea to one of the nation’s leading energy investment platforms in just a few years. More Americans are able to realize the economic and environmental benefits of “going solar.” The company’s co-founders have also become more than just clients; they are good friends and confidants.

Why this career: I sort of lucked into it. When I was a summer associate at then-Dewey Ballantine, my mentor told me it can matter more who you work with and not what you do. I took that advice to heart and picked my specialty because of the people in a particular practice group. It has worked out to date, and I remain very close to my first colleagues from Dewey Ballantine.

Where you grew up: I am a native Washingtonian having lived in and around town nearly my entire life.

Why DC: Being a native Washingtonian, I am admittedly biased in believing DC (and its suburbs) serve as the best metropolitan area to raise one’s family.

First job: Washing cars in the neighborhood.

Family: I have been married for over 10 years to Marianna. We have three children, Sydney (7), Madison (5) and Brayden (2).

Free time: Being with family and friends, golf, attending DC sporting events and traveling.

10 years from now: I hope to be doing the same thing I do now, only with far fewer diapers to change.

Favorite vacation spots: Ventnor, NJ, and Aruba.

Bucket list: Learn to golf with skill.

Daily habit: No matter what time I come home from work, I always give my kids goodnight kisses.