Contact Us

3 Countries Not Included In Refugee Ban Have Ties To Trump's Business

President Donald Trump

A federal judge in Brooklyn put a stay on President Donald Trump’s executive order banning refugees from entering the U.S. late Saturday night — temporarily halting part of Trump’s order that would remove refugees and immigrants with valid visas until it undergoes further legal review.

Trump signed the order Friday and has been facing major criticism since. Some critics said the seven countries targeted in Trump’s ban are countries where he does not have any business interests, the New York Daily News reports. Countries not restricted in the executive order included Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Turkey — all nations where Trump’s businesses, from which he has refused to divest, have licensing and development deals worth millions of dollars.

The ban calls for an immediate halt for 90 days on refugees from a select group of predominantly Muslim countries resettling in the United States— Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Sudan, Libya and Somalia. Roughly 100 to 200 refugees have been detained at airports across the country since Trump signed the order. Two Iraqi men in particular who had visas to travel into the U.S. were detained at JFK airport in New York, sparking the lawsuit against Trump and the U.S. government. [NYDN]